Presence

On the advice of a faithful reader, today before I blog I did a Presence meditation.

1. A specific compassionate loving thing I birthed into the world today: recognized that if I feel that I’m not loving and I blog about what loving things I DO rather than just that I AM loving, I’m in the same boat as my scary boss who is always trying to validate his own value through stories that show what good things he does.

2. A specific loving thing someone gave to me today: I woke up in a bad mood, and my partner asked if I was feeling okay. I like that he’s perceptive and communicative.

3. A not-so-loving thing someone gave to me today: I had a connection via a friend for a job and recommended someone I knew for it. Turns out the person I recommended had a conflict of interest which he viewed as erased because I’d not been aware of his previous connection to the company. I said, “Erased even the PERCEPTION of a conflict of interest?” He continued as if he hadn’t heard me.

4. A compassionately loving thing I did in response to the not-so-loving thing today: People hear what they want to hear – I’ll say my piece, but the decision is theirs. Trying to reiterate my point hasn’t gotten me very far in the past, so if there truly is a problem I’ll leave that to him.

