When It’s Me and When It’s Not

1. A specific compassionate loving thing I birthed into the world today: I had an issue with my partner and had to realize that I didn’t want to talk to him about it because I was globalizing: everything will always be that way. No, how I was feeling arose from specific things, and I could talk to him about those specific things.

2. A specific loving thing someone gave to me today: We talked about two things, and I agreed to change one of them, and he agreed to change the other.

3. A not-so-loving thing someone gave to me today: A friend posted us-vs.-them type comments on Facebook – not outright terrible, but something about it didn’t sit well with my gut.

4. A compassionately loving thing I did in response to the not-so-loving thing today: Since I had talked with him about similar posts and in-person comments in the past, I unfriended him. I don’t need that sort of energy, nor do I really think it’ll help to have another conversation about it with him where he claims his intentions were pure and won’t ever do it again, but at the same time, what the hell do I have a problem with? I can have value differences with my friends, but when every post is about how he is superior to others, I thought it was time to end.

