Mitt uses the U-word!

1. A specific compassionate loving thing I birthed into the world today: I asked a friend in the industry to do a favor for my partner’s business, and he agreed.

2. A specific loving thing someone gave to me today: I can’t remember a time when any Republican uttered “unconditional love,” as Mitt Romney did in his RNC nomination acceptance speech. To those people who can’t hear any positive thing about a political party candidate without concluding that I support their policies and therefore must be set right, calm down. I think anyone introducing the concept of unconditional love in parenting is talking about a good thing. Too bad that’s not all the speech was – Republican policies could use a shot of unconditional love.

3. A not-so-loving thing someone gave to me today: After my partner talked about some possibilities of his costume for a what-do-you-want-to-be-when-you-grow-up party, I said, “This party has been making me do some soul-searching.” He continued talking about making regular office supplies into international spy gadgets. I’ve experienced four different types of not being seen: being made fun of, ignored, talked over, or misunderstood. Being made fun of or misunderstood at least take some engagement, whereas I wouldn’t have expected being talked over as something my partner would do.

4. A compassionately loving thing I did in response to the not-so-loving thing today: I don’t know if I’ve done it yet. I was too shocked to say anything. I’m certain he didn’t mean anything by it, but I’m hurt that spy gadgets would be more compelling to him than why his partner had been doing some soul-searching.

