Life’s Quite Absurd, and Death’s the Final Word

1. A specific compassionate loving thing I birthed into the world today: Visitors to our fair city aren’t always aware of our mediterranean climate when they pack suitcases, so I brought warm clothes to share with my relatives.

2. A specific loving thing someone gave to me today: I was reflecting on a past botched relationship, trying to come up with a more positive story than just “I lost someone.” My listener quoted Monty Python (of which I’m a huge fan): “You come from nothing – you’re going back to nothing. What have you lost? Nothing!” Sounds callous, but in context it’s comforting to realize that if I started with nothing, I was granted a number of years with an interesting person.

3. A not-so-loving thing someone gave to me today: Yet another guy belittled a feminist remark I made.

4. A compassionately loving thing I did in response to the not-so-loving thing today: Tried not to get my panties in a twist – he hurts me because I’ve wanted to be that one girl he does treat with respect. He’s the problem, not me. We’re beyond me trying to explain it to him, so my task now is to not let it get to me.

