Super Mutant Ninja Biker Girls

1. A specific compassionate loving thing I birthed into the world today: A friend of mine is into superheroes, and his friends were denigrating his bearded Batman look on Facebook. I wrote that I think Batman should always have had a beard, and I meant it.

2. A specific loving thing someone gave to me today: “Education’s important, sure, but if you’re not also compassionate, you’ll react to sticking your foot in your mouth by calling the person who educates you hypersensitive or defending your own view.”

3. A not-so-loving thing someone gave to me today: Men continue to react to a Mark Bode mural outside my apartment that was previously tagged “SEXIST” by failing to recognize that just because it celebrates Aztec culture doesn’t mean it can’t also be sexist at the same time.

4. A compassionately loving thing I did in response to the not-so-loving thing today: I looked Mr. Bode up to see what his intentions are. His intention is to keep his father’s characters alive in order to keep his father alive and spread his influence of living in a world of imaginative realism. Mark is a fantastic artist in his own right, and his father’s art grew out of underground comics’ celebration of the 1960s sexual revolution, but I have to say I still find someone who paints women as “dalliances with broads” all over public spaces in a context where women and queers haven’t had our fantasies stroked as yes, sexist. Decide for yourself: interview, his dad’s Biker Girl, Mark’s Biker Girl. To say that we women are sexual beings is a first step, I agree, but not unless we own our own sexuality and sexual imagery. I call it the Sex and the City phenomenon: we are to embrace our sexuality, but it’s actually written by men? Maybe I should call it the Xena phenomenon: if her outfit’s skimpy but you put a spear in her hand, she’s empowered. Ah, has this soapbox rendered me a Defender of My Own View? So be it. Just wish there wasn’t a Hierarchy of Exploitation between race and gender. And yes, I’m white.

