Sweeps!

This weekend someone did something so loving for me that it sweeps all three categories of something I’m overwhelmingly grateful for, a thank you, and a practice of love: I struggle with moderate and sometimes severe depression, which leaves me feeling alone and exhausted most of the time. I got a book that provides some new perspective (highly recommend Sonja Lyubomirsky’s The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) in its postscript. There she provides some solid recommendations I hadn’t heard put quite so concisely before, and I asked my boyfriend for help with doing those every day. In the past he’s agreed to not give advice when I want empathy and to try to maintain the boundaries I had asked of his role. He noted our previous agreement, agreed to what I asked and has been encouraging the new system with flying colors. He hugged me and said, “I’m with you.”

